Warwick Valley High School’s Portfolio class wins grand prize at Crystal Springs Resort’s Great Jack-O-Lantern competition


Warwick Valley High School’s Portfolio class wins grand prize at Crystal Springs Resort’s Great Jack-O-Lantern competition

November 3, 2021

Warwick Valley High School’s Portfolio class and their Beetlejuice-themed display of carved pumpkins won the grand prize of $1,000 on Friday, October 29th at Crystal Springs Resort’s Annual Great Jack-O-Lantern competition. The class also took two, $100.00 Visa gift card prizes for Best Craftsmanship and Best In Show.

Art teacher Kristen Spano and her Portfolio students created a display complete with interactive props showcasing the student’s artistically-carved pumpkin masterpieces. Adella Kurosz was the class Art Director of the event. She selected the characters and designed the layout for the event. The displays were complete with green flickering strobe lights, battery operated LED lights and the Beetlejuice theme song which ran on a loop to establish the theatrical mood for the night’s show.

Taylor Lipnicky created a 4-foot sandworm head and Lisle Aurandt designed the body. Elliot Ambers-Hashim carved a “carnival” Beetlejuice with a cardboard mobile hat with lights. Adella Kurosz created a 6-foot monster that served as the backdrop to the set. Jason Thomas created the “Inferno Room” sign. Gabriella Adee and Julianna Woods constructed the Beetlejuice grave site. Drew Powers and Jiajing Teng painted two 7-foot-high strikers. Maddy Balsamo dressed as “Lydia” distributing pamphlets of the “Handbook for the Recently Deceased,” designed by Connor Labar. The entire class collaborated to make 28 individually carved pumpkins. Casey Paterson won Best In Show for her pumpkin carving of Adam and Wyatt Tomaselli won Best Craftsmanship for his rendition of Beetlejuice.

Special thanks to our administration and staff who attended the event. The students were thrilled to have wildcat support for a memorable night. Congratulations to all of Mrs. Spano’s Portfolio participants:

  • Gabriella Adee
  • Hanna Ali
  • Elliot Ambers-Hashim
  • Lisle Aurandt
  • Maddy Balsamo
  • Faith Call
  • Erin Eicher
  • Skye Fernandez
  • Arianna Foutch-Mann
  • Maya Garcia
  • Patrick Gardiner
  • Ian Gillings
  • Claudia Harris
  • Nicole Kellan
  • Adella Kurosz
  • Connor LaBar
  • Marcus Langone
  • Taylor Lipnicky
  • Michael Muster
  • Zachary Nagamatsu
  • Casey Paterson
  • Mayleen Perez
  • Natalia Przybycien
  • Drew Powers
  • Mackenzie Rodas
  • Wyatt Tomaselli

View more photos, including some of students carving their pumpkins:



If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Comments are closed.