District welcomes new faculty at teacher orientation


District welcomes new faculty at teacher orientation

September 1, 2023

The district welcomed more than 20 new faculty members to the Warwick Valley team this year!

With students heading back to school on Tuesday, September 5, the educators got to take in their new teaching environments and met with colleagues and administrators during a two-day new teacher orientation led by Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Cindy Leandro.

Warwick Valley School District new teachers tour school buildings on Aug. 30, 2023.

“With the start of the academic year just a long weekend away, I am grateful for the enthusiasm that our 2023 class of new teachers has brought to these training sessions. We pride ourselves on attracting and retaining quality educators; it is instrumental in maintaining our district’s distinguished standing,” said Superintendent of Schools Dr. David Leach. “I can see in this group already, the excitement and dedication to education that will make them a perfect fit in our district, and look forward to seeing the positive, lasting impacts they will have on our students.”

The two-day orientation opened with a welcome and morning motivational moment with Dr. Leach, before other members of the district administrative team introduced the teachers to the district’s various departments and programs. Assistant Superintendent for Instruction Meghan McGourty provided a district overview, while Patricia Close and Alexandra D’Angelo presented on the district’s mental health program. Ms. Close also joined Alexandra Hughes to discuss the district’s special education program. 

District principals also presented to the new teachers. Park Avenue Principal Bill Biniaris and Sanfordville Principal Johnna Maraia presented on Effective Communication with Families, while Mr. Jared Yapkowitz and the middle school team focused on Connecting with Students/SEL. After the new Wildcats had time to meet with their mentor teachers, they took a bus ride around the district and visited each school for a principal-led tour. 

Please join us in welcoming…


  • Ana Agostinoni
  • Joseph Astorino
  • Gabrielle DeRario
  • Arielle Gibbons
  • Colin Hernandez
  • Anna Nardelli
  • Robert Maslanka
  • Johanna Klein
  • Jillian Lankau
  • Kerrin McKeever
  • Chelsea Iasello
  • TeAnna Padilla
  • Megan Davis
  • Alicia Motter
  • Anna Penny
  • AnnMarie Persad
  • Gregory Sirico
  • Lucie McPherson
  • Katie Schieman
  • Matthew Spicehandler
  • Carolyn Weller


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Comments are closed.