2023 WVHS Newspaper Fashion Show


2023 WVHS Newspaper Fashion Show

June 5, 2023

 Warwick Valley High School held its annual Newspaper Fashion Show on June 2, 2023. The event was the largest yet, with 40 garments made out of newspaper and two sewn garments.
“This year’s fashion show was a huge success,  said WVHS art teacher Kristen Spano.  “In four weeks, the students learned how to digitally design a garment, take their own measurements, create a pattern, construct a garment out of paper and curate a runway show. The students learned how to manipulate paper to twist, curl, fold, fan and stand out! From handmade rosettes to delicate cut outs, the students arranged layers upon layers of paper to form wearable paper garments.”
Two students also had the opportunity to showcase their sewing skills. Sarah Aljukick designed and wore an evening gown, which she constructed as part of her requirement for Senior Project. Zachary Nagamatsu designed and hand sewed a corset that Adella Kurosz modeled during the show.

Five WVHS departments aided in the success of the show. Kirk Thomas’ Communications class provided music and videography. Kathleen Bettello’s Junior Cosmetology class did the hair and makeup for the models. Rocco Manno, Terry McLoughlin and Sunwha Gil’s period 3 and 4 art classes chalked the 100-yard runway. Nancy Colgan’s Land Food and People, Landscape and Floral Design students created the floral arrangements. Eddie Avila’s Criminal Justice class provided security. These highly skilled students contributed their talents to make the event memorable for students, teachers, staff, friends and family alike. 

Below are a list of names of all the designers and models:
Sarah Aljukic
Sofia AyupovDesigned by Sofia Hafeez
Katie Bracken
Meghan BrokingDesigned by Adella Kurosz
Brigid Bubenik
Mya Chocallo
Kyra CollinsDesigned by Alexia Vilamajo
Alice Corsini
Julia FlanaganDesigned by Pauline Cordova
Casey Fox
Maya GarciaDesigned by Sophia Parkin
Mia Green
Anysia Hernandez
Mia Hernandez
Leah HidalgoDesigned by Finn O’Connor
Siam KhamsopaDesigned by Jaralynn Cruz
Natalia Ksiazek
Adella KuroszDesigned by Zach Nagamatsu
Sylvia Lewis
Taylor Lipnicky
Marissa Mancino
Sydney McDougall
Grace McGrogran
Madi Olszewski
Ariana Perez
Tyreese Pierre
Miller PritchardDesigned by Brandon Fasullo
Maddie Reynolds
Hannah Sansone
Mia Sciortino
Lena StoneDesigned by Oceania Whight-Webb
Ashleigh White
Natalia YacobDesigned by Kristina Correa

View a slideshow from the event below:


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Comments are closed.