Warwick Valley voters approve 2024-25 budget


Warwick Valley voters approve 2024-25 budget

May 21, 2024

Voters have approved the Warwick Valley Central School District’s $115,161,458 budget proposal by an unofficial vote of 961 to 361. Additionally, voters approved a bus proposition, and three community members were elected to the WVCSD Board of Education.

The 2024-25 approved budget includes a tax levy increase of 3.49%, which is below the state’s allowable tax cap. This budget marks the ninth time in 12 years that the tax levy increase has remained below the tax cap, which has saved taxpayers a total of $2,910,639. The District has never exceeded the tax cap.

“I would like to thank the community for coming out in support of the 2024-25 budget,” said Superintendent of Schools Dr. David Leach. “The budget manages to tackle prevailing economic concerns while maintaining all current programs and staffing.

“As Board President, I am deeply thankful to our community for their steadfast support. Your trust enables us to uphold our promise of educational excellence,” stated Keith Parsons, President of the WVCSD Board of Education. “Additionally, my heartfelt gratitude and appreciation to my fellow board members and our outstanding district administration. Their attention and hard work led to a budget that is fiscally prudent while delivering top-tier learning experiences for every Warwick student.”

Voters also considered a proposition to purchase five buses for the Transportation Department – two 65-passenger propane buses, two 65-passenger gas buses, one seven-passenger SUV – at a maximum cost of $780,000. The proposition passed by a vote of 923 to 395. The District would use $280,000 of its bus reserve fund to help offset the cost. Of the total cost, $506,220, or 64.9%, would return to the District in state transportation aid. Therefore, no additional taxes would be needed to purchase the buses at a net cost of approximately $500,000.

Three candidates, including one incumbent, ran for three open Board of Education seats:

  • Tara Cruz – 978 votes
  • William Fanos (incumbent) – 944 votes
  • Mandy Blanton – 1,016 votes



If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Comments are closed.